In the beginning 

  • Hell. I’ve been told more than twice “You should have a blog.” It always sounded like doing too much, which generally I avoid. Except when I don’t. My pattern has been to avoid doing much of anything that requires effort, until I am faced with no choice, at which point I add as many additional effort-inducing projects as I can (can’t) handle. Anyway, here goes.
  • Why does anyone care what I have to say? I think folks enjoy the pickles I get into, the quirky stories, the innocent pretense that gives way to unexpected, shocking misfortunes. My friend, Sugar, loves to sit back as she introduces me to someone new. She watches them silently judge my benign small talk with inward yawns and eye rolls and waits for the inevitable ball to drop when the real Miss Fontaine makes her unorthodox comment, insult, or dance move. It’s always followed by her arm gesturing my way, announcing “Dana-Dane, ladies and gentlemen!”
  • I think that is the general reason all the mamas and the papas say this girl should share stories with other cyber-nuts. I don’t know who will care. But I do know I turned 40 this year and stopped giving 2 shits about who cares, so fuck it. Also, I swear a lot now. More openly, that is. 
  • So, welcome to my blog. Read it. Don’t read it. I don’t care. I like writing. I like making people laugh. And I love mother fucking pickles.

2 thoughts on “In the beginning 

Leave a comment